More than 20 Canadians qualified for the 2021 NCAA Tournament

Finally, after a year hiatus, March Madness is back! After a season that saw a record 158 Canadians crack NCAA Divison One rosters, 22 have advanced to the postseason.

The tournament will take place exclusively in the state of Indiana. It starts March 18th with the first four and will conclude April 5th in Lucas Oil Stadium at the championship game. 

One Canadian whose team expects to be there is Andrew Nembhard of Gonzaga whose Bulldogs have the tournament’s number one overall seed for the first time in school history. Other Canadians on teams with real final four hopes are Keon Ambrose-Hylton and Joshua Primo of the Alabama Crimson Tide. 

Matthew-Alexander Moncrieffe is sure to see a lot of air time on TSN as his teammate Cade Cunningham is the favourite to go number one overall in the NBA Draft. A Canadian who is expected to join Cunningham in hearing his name called in the draft is Oregon’s Chris Duarte whose #7 seed Ducks could be a fun sleeper. 

Regardless of how these Canadians and their teams do, it’s just a blessing to have March Madness back. 

Below is a list of every Canadian who will take the court in this year’s NCAA Tournament. 

Name School Region/Seed Who/What Day They Play
Keon Ambrose-Hylton Alabama #2 Seed in the East Iona (Saturday)
Keeshawn Barthelemy Colorado #5 Seed in the East Georgetown (Saturday)
Jahvon Blair Georgetown #12 Seed in the East Colorado (Saturday)
Maurice Calloo Oregon State #12 Seed in the Midwest Tennessee (Friday)
Max Cheylov UC Santa Barbara #12 Seed in the West Creighton (Saturday)
Brandon Cyrus UC Santa Barbara #12 Seed in the West Creighton (Saturday)
Okay Djamgouz Drake #11 Seed in the West Wichita State (Thursday)
Chris Duarte Oregon #7 Seed in the West VSU (Saturday) 
Zach Edey Purdue #4 Seed in the South North Texas (Friday)
Quincy Guerrier Syracuse #11 Seed in the Midwest San Diego State (Friday)
Nathanael Jack Florida State #4 Seed in the East UNC Greensboro (Saturday)
Matey Juric Drexel #16 Seed in the Midwest Illinois (Friday)
Elijah Lufile Oral Roberts #15 Seed in the South Ohio State (Friday)
Liam McChesney Utah State #11 Seed in the South Texas Tech (Friday)
Sean Miller-Moore Grand Canyon  #15 Seed in the West Iowa (Saturday)
Matthew-Alexander Moncrieffe Oklahoma State #4 Seed in the Midwest Liberty (Friday)
Andrew Nembhard Gonzaga #1 Seed in the West Norfolk State/Appalachian State (Saturday)
Eugene Omoruyi Oregon #7 Seed in the West VSU (Saturday) 
Gabe Osabuohien West Virginia #3 Seed in the Midwest Morehead State (Friday)
Olivier-Maxence Prosper Clemson #7 Seed in the Midwest Rutgers (Friday)
Joshua Primo Alabama #2 Seed in the East Iona (Saturday)
Victor Radocaj Eastern Washington #14 Seed in the West Kansas (Saturday)
Sam Thomson Colgate #14 Seed in the South Arkansas (Friday)
Aher Uguak Loyola Chicago  #8 Seed in the Midwest Georgia Tech (Friday)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.