CanWest Awards: Stephon Lamar 3rd Straight Saskatchewan MVP, Youssef Ouahrig Rookie of the Year

Stephon Lamar continues the streak of Saskatchewan MVPs
Courtesy: Saskatchewan Athletics

The CanWest MVP trophy has been in Saskatchewan now for three straight seasons. Former Saskatchewan Huskies’ standout Jamelle Barrett won the award in 2011 and 2012. The latest Huskie to take home the award is third year guard Stephon Lamar.

Lamar led the conference in scoring averaging 22.9 points and added 5 assists, leading the Huskies to the best record in the Prairie division.

Youssef Ouahrig out of Quebec took home rookie of the year honors after a terrific debut season for the Alberta Golden Bears.

Playing with star players Jordan Baker, Kenneth Otieno and Sahr Saffa, Ouahrig post a solid 8.1 points and 3.9 assists per game.

Ouahrig battled nagging injuries all season long, but only missed one of Alberta’s 22 conference games earning the respect of his coaching staff and teammates in his first season.

Winnipeg’s Andrew Cunningham led the nation in assists per game at 7.8, and broke the Wesmen’s single season record for assist with 163 total earning a second team all-star nod.

The point guard debate of Winnipeg’s Andrew Cunningham or Saskatchewan’s Stephon Lamar has raged on throughout the season with the edge going to Lamar. Next season should be interesting, as both players will continue to improve their games, and hope to continue on their team’s success.


MVP: Stephon Lamar, Saskatchewan

Rookie of the Year: Youssef Ouahrig, Alberta

Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Baker, Saskatchewan

Ken Shields Award nominee: Todd Bergen-Henengouwen, Alberta

Coach of the Year: Craig Beaucamp, Victoria


First Team

Sam Freeman, Fraser Valley

Stephon Lamar, Saskatchewan

Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson, Calgary

Kenneth Otieno, Alberta

Doug Plumb, UBC

Second Team

Andrew Cunningham, Winnipeg

Terrell Evans, Victoria

Mark Perrin, Trinity Western

Derek Waldner, Lethbridge

Stephan Walton, Manitoba


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.