Championship Season-Fredericton Black Kats look to repeat as NBIAA Provincial Champs

The 2012/13 New Brunswick high school basketball season comes to an end this weekend at Harbour Station in Saint John NB. The Fredericton Black Kats go in as the heavy favor for the AAA crown.

Not only are the Black Kats vying for a provincial championship this weekend but A, AA & AAA titles on both the boys and girls side will be claimed this weekend at Harbour Station. The NBIAA runs its playoffs in a format that gets the two best teams from each division competing at the same venue in an event called the NBIAA Final 12.

The venue gives athletes a goal to reach a specific location not just a championship each year, and allows them to play in a large venue with their entire basketball community spectating.

The weekend tips off with the A girls game going on Friday at 6:30pm and concludes on Saturday with the AAA boys final at 8:30pm.

In the AAA division, this year’s final is a repeat of the 2012 final where the Fredericton Black Kats defeated the Kennebecasis Valley Crusaders. Erik Nissen is back to take another crack at a very talented Fredericton Black Kats team. A Black Kats team that defeated them last weekend 95-55.

The Black Kats are led by NBIAA All Stars 6-4 Alex Carty (2013) and 5-10 Sawyer Eddy (2014) and has plenty of depth including 6-0 Stanley Mayambo (2015) against KVHS all Star 6-9 Erik Nissen (2013).

No matter what way you slice it Fredericton is the heavy favorite, but be sure to tune in as KVHS looks to take on the role of “GIANT KILLER”.

NBIAA Final 12 Complete Schedule

Friday February 22

6:30pm A Girls Caledonia vs Devon Park

9:00pm A Boys Harvey vs Hartland

Saturday February 23

1:00pm AA Girls Rothesay vs Southern Victoria

3:30pm AA Boys Carleton North vs Woodstock

6:00pm AAA Girls Fredericton vs Bernice MacNaughton

8:30pm AAA Boys Kennebecasis vs Fredericton


In addition to this weekend’s championship games, the NBIAA plays its all star game at Sussex Regional High School on Sunday February 24 with the girls game going at 1:00pm and the boys following at 3:00pm.

All Stars include:

Sobeys /   NBIAA Basketball Coaches Association
2012-2013  Basketball ALL-STARS

A   Northeast Girls

A   Southwest Girls

Abby   Bartlett (Stanley) Danielle   Bellefleur (John Caldwell)
Sarah   Fanjoy (Petitcodiac) Josie   Brown (Grand Manan)
Madison   Howatt (Petitcodiac) Kaylyn   Toner (John Caldwell)
Jessica   Northrup (Stanley) Emma   Dufresne (John Caldwell)
Emma   Wissink (Caledonia) Taylor   Williams (Devon  Park)

AA   Northeast Girls

AA   Southwest Girls

Shannon   Ashe (Bathurst) Meghan   Flood (Rothesay High)
Sarah   Briggs (Tantramar) Kelly   Marcolin (Rothesay High)
Emily   Butler (Bathurst) Alice   McCain (Carleton North)
Katie   Cadman (Tantramar) Olamide   Ojuwao (Rothesay High)
Sandy   Mundle (Bonar Law) Leah   Robinson (Southern Victoria)

AAA   Northeast Girls

AAA   Southwest Girls

MacKenzie   Balser (Riverview) Deidre   Alexander (Woodstock)
Josee   Jobin (L’Odyssee) Taneesha   Dalling (Sussex)
ErinSteeves   (Bernice MacNaughton) Abby   McDonald (Kennebecasis  Valley)
Eibhlin   Storey (Harrison Trimble) Jen   McTague (Kennebecasis  Valley)
Grace   Wade (Bernice MacNaughton) Emily   McLeod (Fredericton)

A   Northeast Boys

A   Southwest Boys

Jeremiah   Branscombe (Petitcodiac) Sam   Drummond (Harvey)
Peter   Fenton (Caledonia) Zachary   Foster (Hartland)
Andromar   Lubin (Carrefour Beausoleil) Nick   Kitchen (Harvey)
Luke   Nelson (Caledonia) Caleb   Orser (Hartland)
Brady   Oaks (Dalhousie) Zach   Pothier (Grand Manan)

AA   Northeast Boys

AA   Southwest Boys

Nick   Boyd (Tantramar) Nathaniel   Burlock (Woodstock)
Brad   Gallant (Sugarloaf) Oliver   Ebbett (Carleton North)
Jason   Johnson (Tantramar) Devin   Elsemore (St. Stephen)
Isaiah   Reid (JMA Armstrong) Keegan   Gray (Woodstock)
Anthony   Soloman (JMA Armstrong) Dan   McShane (St. Stephen)

AAA   Northeast Boys

AAA   Southwest Boys

Nolan   Levy (James M Hill) Alec   Carty (Fredericton)
Kyle   McCluskey (Riverview) Sawyer   Eddy (Fredericton)
Kyle   Rogers (Moncton) Erik   Nissen (Kennebecasis  Valley)
Andrew   Ryder (Moncton) Evan   Roberts (Simonds)
Morgan   Tatlock (Bernice MacNaughton) Josh   Whelan (Leo Hayes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.