Canadian Women Draw Group B For 2011 FIBA Americas



NEIVA, COLUMBIA–Canada Basketball’s Senior Women’s National Team (SWNT) is one of ten teams that will compete at the 2011 FIBA Americas Championship for Women. In a live draw today in the host city of Neiva, Columbia, it was determined that Canada will be competing in ‘Group B’, and will take on Brazil, Mexico, Jamaica, and Paraguay.

The 11th FIBA Americas Championship for Women will take place from September 24 to October 1 at the Alvaro Sanchez Silva Coliseum in Columbia. This summer’s competition will also act as a qualifying tournament for the Summer Olympics, where the champion will compete in London, England in 2012.

The countries that finish between second and fourth place will compete at the 2012 FIBA World Olympic Qualifier Championship and have a chance to qualify for the 2012 Summer Olympics. The qualifying tournament is set for June 25 – July 1, but the host is still to be determined.

“It is so exciting to finally see the draw for the Olympic Qualifying Tournament!  As always the America’s will be very competitive and there will be no easy games,” said Allison McNeill SWNT Head Coach. “We start our first training camp in ten days and I know that our athletes are very determined and focused as we prepare for the tournament in Neiva, Columbia.”


The draw took place in the presence of top representatives of FIBA Americas, the Columbian Basketball Federation and the Huila Government. The FIBA Americas Championship is comprised of two competitive groups which are sure to make for some very exciting basketball this summer.

Results of the draw:

Group A: Cuba, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Chile, Columbia

Group B: Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Jamaica, Paraguay

The SWNT will face some tough competition in the opening stage of the tournament. In Canada’s second game of the tournament, they will play the defending champions, Brazil. In 2009, Brazil beat Argentina to claim their fourth gold medal, which is the most of any country in the FIBA Americas Championship.

Canada will be the lone representative from the North American sub-zone as the United States of America has automatically qualified for the 2012 Summer Olympics by capturing gold at the 2010 World Championship for Women.

Overall, Canada’s SWNT has participated in every FIBA Americas Championship since its inception in 1989. In ten previous tournaments, Canada has medaled seven times; winning six bronze and one gold medal. Canada was the first-ever host country to win gold in 1995 when the tournament was held in Hamilton, Ontario. In the last championship in Cuiabá, Brazil in 2009, Canada beat Cuba in overtime to claim the bronze medal.

Attached is the SWNT’s preliminary round schedule at the 2011 FIBA Americas Championship for Women.


September 24/ Mexico
September 25/ Brazil
September 26/ Paraguay
September 27/ Bye
September 28/ Jamaica


Leave a reply